Are you where your mind is?

When I was about 10 years old I remember my grandpa saying, “No matter where you go… there you are.” Into riddles and thinking my grandpa was wise and wonderful, I thought this was a very clever saying.

As as adult I know that physically we are where we are. On a deeper level, though, I think we are where our mind is.

I can certainly be one to live in the future, focused on goals and what is coming next. Until just a couple years ago most of my efforts went into planning ahead for the days, evenings and events to come. While at work, I planned the evening. At night I lay awake with insomnia fretting about work. During a dinner party, I thought about the next day, how tired I was going to be, what would come next.

My mind was constantly in the future. And the true moments, my life’s experiences, were passing me by. And it was exhausting.

But as I work to focus on the present I realize that each day is something to think about in and of itself. Each ordinary day deserves my mental participation, some thought.

No matter where your body is, you are where your mind is. And it is gratifying to be satisfied with where you are. The past cannot be undone and the future is not guaranteed.

It seems simple and may seem trite. But I challenge you to think about your days with gratitude, as an opportunity to see something special in the ordinary. Your ordinary.

5 thoughts on “Are you where your mind is?

  1. Was that your Kearin grandpa or your Q grandpa? I’m trying to remember if I recall GQ saying that! Love this post! And I’m guilty frequently. Already angsting about tomorrow!

    Your much older and obvious not wiser Cuz

    • Believe me, I’m no pro at this either. All we can do is try :-). Grandpa Q said that to me and I loved it! I think it is an AA thing — a reminder that you can’t escape yourself no matter where you go. But I think he told it to me because he knew I’d think it was clever. Thank you for the comment!

  2. I really like this post and can relate. I often find myself furiously planning for the future and working hard on my goals and realize that I’m not truly living in the moment. I’m trying to get better at just being present. Thanks for the good reminder!

    • Thanks for the comment! Yes, it’s easy to get caught up in thinking about the future and goals, and they are important. But it can be really satisfying sometimes to put on the brakes and just live. Enjoy today!

  3. Pingback: Your Problem is Not Your Problem | Because I Lived

Leave a Reply

